Summer Recap Part 3 – Grand Tetons 

Back in June, I wrapped up my tour of the northern Rockies with a night in Grand Teton National Park. These mountains are jaw dropping beautiful from every angle. The views across Jackson Lake are second to none. Scenic overlooks are sprinkled throughout the park to offer visitors unparalleled views of this scenic landscape. At the top of Signal Mountain, there is a commanding view of the Snakes River as it winds its way through the park. There are so many picturesque mountain landscapes out there, but in my travels, the Tetons are in a league of their own. 

In my one day of driving around the Tetons, I was fortunate to see several different animals. However, nothing was more exciting than what happened shortly before dark. I had taken photos of bison, pronghorn antelope, and elk. Earlier in the trip, I photographed a mountain goat and grizzly. The only big animal that I had not seen was a moose. My fortunes changed shortly before dark fell on the Tetons. When I turned a corner on the park’s main road, several people were staring excitedly into a meadow. As I looked in that direction, my eyes were in disbelief as I looked at a bull moose grazing. I stopped and took several photos from a safe distance. Wow! What a way to end an incredible trip!! 😀😀😀


2 thoughts on “Summer Recap Part 3 – Grand Tetons 

  1. John, Your photos brought back wonderful memories of the trip my husband and I took with floating down Snake River one morning as we took in the majestic views of the Grand Teton Mountains and saw bald eagles perched in tree tops along the way.
    We were there when the lilacs were in bloom, and were amazed at the city park’s gateway of elk antlers forming an arch, plus one furniture/lighting shop had elk antlers used for chandeliers. The ski slopes were with grass in the springtime of our visit. We enjoyed a typical meal at a nearby ranch and saw the fields where elk are fed during the harsh winter months by boy scouts, we were told. Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos and words describing your journey. Anne Browning

Leave a comment