Hiking in Acadia National Park

Gorham Mountain Trail

My time in Acadia National Park was a dream come true. It was incredible to drive around the Park Loop and gaze at that beautiful rocky coastline. However, I was not completely content to just look at the scenery on the main road. My objective was to always find a trail or two and do some exploring. I wanted to challenge myself to climb one of those majestic mountains on Mount Desert Island.

There were several trails that I had researched before embarking on this trip to Maine. When I entered the park, I had not decided with certainty which one I would attempt to complete. However, once I realized the jaw dropping scenery that Gorham Mountain overlooked, my decision was made rather quickly. This popular trail near Sand Beach and Thunder Hole was going to become the center of my attention for the next hour or so. There was no doubt in my mind that this was going to be one legendary hike.

When I was doing my research on this trail, I noticed that it was rated as moderately strenuous. I figured there was nothing to worry about. Other trails in Acadia offer some extreme hiking, but Gorham Mountain seemed to be more than manageable. I was flying solo on this trail, but that did not deter me from reaching my goal of summiting my first Acadia mountain. As John Muir said, “The mountains are calling and I must go.”

The trail gradually gained 500 feet in elevation over the one mile ascent. There were a few large rocks to negotiate while moving up the mountain, but I did not get slowed down by any obstacles. It did not take long for that incredible Acadia coastline to come into full view. As I reached the top of Gorham Mountain, the entire park came into view. Sand Beach was below me to my left. All of those sweet smelling pine trees were visible for miles. Waves crashed against the shoreline below me. That cool Maine ocean breeze refreshed my body as I soaked in my surroundings. The scene was so picturesque that I just do not have the words to adequately describe it.

As I made my way back down the mountain, I reflected on my experience on Gorham Mountain Trail. It was indeed moderately strenuous at times, but I was well prepared to take on its challenges. The view at the top was more than worth the effort. This trail was the perfect introduction to hiking in Acadia. Hopefully, I can experience some of the other legendary hikes that the park has to offer.

One thought on “Hiking in Acadia National Park

Leave a comment