Spread the Love 

I am deeply troubled by the message of hate that some people in our country are spreading. Words of hate have no place in our society. We must celebrate our diversity. Put your arms around people today that need to be comforted. Greet everyone with a smile and kind word. There are many out there today who are living in fear of this hateful rhetoric that is being spewed. These hateful people do not represent the America that I know. The America I know is great! It has always been great! From the very beginning, our country has welcomed the tired, vulnerable, and persecuted. This country has always been that light on a hill. For centuries, people have wanted to come to America. This is where dreams can come true. Our country has had its share of problems over the years, but love has always won out in the end. It does not matter if someone is different from you. Love them. Care for them. Be the best part of someone’s day. This is a beautiful world that we live in. Let’s not darken it with hateful thoughts and words. 

As I spend my days teaching middle school students, I do my best to create a welcoming climate in my classroom. I want my room to be a bright spot in each child’s day. By taking them on a ‘journey’ through this amazingly beautiful world, I hope that I can bring them a few minutes of relaxation away from the outside stress. It is my goal to open their eyes to incredible destinations outside of small town Kentucky. For me, traveling and nature have always been an escape. They have been my sanity when the hardships of the world have weighed me down. If I can spark interest in traveling the world to a student or two, then I have done my job. 

Live life to the fullest. Help those in need. Greet more people with a handshake and a smile. Stay positive. Open a child’s eyes to traveling and nature. Befriend the lonely. Stand up for the downtrodden. Life is short. Let’s all make the most of each day. 

“Don’t count the days. Make the days count.” – Muhammad Ali

“I need to laugh and when the sun is out I’ve got something I can laugh about I feel good in a special way I’m in love and it’s a sunny day Good day sunshine, good day sunshine, good day sunshine.” John Lennon and Paul McCartney

                                          

4 thoughts on “Spread the Love 

Leave a comment